Continuing Education Program
All contractors licensed in the State of Florida are required to have 14 hours of approved continuing education each biennium prior to the renewal period for both certified and registered contractors. Certified contractors renew in the even years and registered contractors in the odd years.
Of the 14 hours, at least 1 hour must deal with Workplace Safety, 1 hour on the subject of Worker's Compensation, 1 hour on Business Practices, 1 hour on Laws and Rules and 1 hour on Florida Building Code advanced modules. And, the newest requirement, 1 hour on Wind Mitigation Methodology. The remaining credits are classified as general credits.
A person who holds more than one certificate or registration issued by the board is required to complete the continuing education requirements only once during each biennial certification renewal period and only once during each biennial registration period.
How can I check on the number of CE Credit Hours I have completed?
To find out how many CE credits you have: log on to http://www.myfloridalicense.com/dbpr/businesses.html and click on My Continuing Education. You will be asked to activate your online account if you have not already. The requirement for providers to report completed CE courses was not established until 2001 so the only hours tracked are since that date.
Should I keep my Continuing Education Certificates of Completion?
Licensees should maintain their individual course completion certificates. Online accounts will only reflect hours for the current renewal cycle. Licensees will not be able to view past hours once a renewal cycle has ended and/or the license has been renewed. It is ultimately the licensee’s responsibility to prove completion of courses.
Can I get my required 14 hours of continuing education through BANCF?
Annually, BANCF provides a 2-day 14 hour class including all 6 of the required hours.